Facebook to alert you if your data was shared
From today, Facebook will begin notifying the 87 million people whose personal information may have been improperly shared with Cambridge Analytica.
If your data was leaked, you will receive a message from Facebook at the top of your news feed. This will provide details on how you are affected. You will receive this message if you or your friends used Facebook to log into the This Is Your Digital Life app.
Also, all other Facebook users will receive a notice helping them to turn off specific apps or shut down third-party access to their apps entirely.
While most of those affected are in the US, some people in the UK have also had their details breached. It is understood the messages will be sent out at about 5pm in the UK.
Facebook is now facing investigation both in the UK and the USA. If the social media giant is found to be in breach of the data protection act, you could be entitled to compensation.